Skip to main navigation.
Contact Us: 1-800-548-4660

2017 Election Information

June 5, 2017

There are three positions on the Otero County Electric Cooperative Board of Trustees that are up for election. Elections will take place at the Annual Meeting of Members to be held Saturday, August 5, 2017 in the Cloudcroft High School Gymnasium in Cloudcroft, NM.

The Trustees whose terms are expiring this year are listed below.

Bill Bird - Northeast District

Matt Flotte - Central District

Shawn Bell - Southwest District

Article IV, Section 3 of the Bylaws states:

SECTION 3. Nominations. Nominations for Trustees to be elected shall be by Petition signed by fifteen or more members acting together, and who are bona fide residents of the district for which the nomination is made. The Petition shall be filed not less than twenty (20) days or more than forty (40) days before the date of the Meeting of the Members in which Trustees are to be elected. Nominations for the position of Trustee from the floor, at the annual Meeting of Members, is not allowed.

The secretary shall mail with the notice of the meeting, but at least seven days before the date of the meeting, a statement of the number of Trustees to be elected and the names and addresses of the candidates. Notwithstanding anything contained in this SECTION, failure to comply with any of the provisions of this SECTION shall not affect in any manner whatsoever the validity of any election of Trustee.

Petition forms are available in any of our local offices in Cloudcroft, Alto or Carrizozo or may be downloaded by clicking the link below. According to the dates outlined in the bylaws, petitions will only be accepted between Monday, June 26, 2017 and Monday, July 17, 2017. Completed petitions may be turned in at any OCEC office.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo